MIA reports growth in income and membership

The Meetings Industry Association (mia) announced both an increase in income and a growth in membership at its 24th AGM, which took place today (7th April) at Church House London. At the end of its financial year the mia had a membership of 531, an increase of 18%. 

The association reported increased income from its events and its AIM Higher accreditation. A new Chair was also elected, and the Chief Executive, Jane Longhurst presented a progressive strategy for the year ahead for the mia. 

Andrew Mosley, previously Vice-Chairman, was elected to fill One Great George Street Gary Payne's post after he completed his two-year tenure as mia Chairman.

Andrew commented on the new post: “My first act as mia Chairman is to thank Gary for his commitment to the mia and the industry it represents over the past two years; during his time as Chair. My aim is to continue the excellent work and achievements. The mia will continue to work to enhance the offering to mia members and raise standards in the meetings industry, by further raising the profile of AIM.”

Jane Longhurst presented a strategy for the year ahead which included enhanced communication for both the mia, miaList and AIM brands, re-launched research projects, more educational events and networking opportunities, collaborative projects with the HBAA and a proactive new mia Learning and Development Academy. 

Jane said: “The mia’s strategy for the year ahead will increase the delivery of exceptional standards and valuable benefits for our members. Through it, we will achieve continued growth, enabling us to resource appropriately for the delivery of our AIM objective; to further raise the accreditation’s profile with corporate buyers.”

This year a large council was elected, with 27 representatives reflecting the mix of mia members. The mia Board and Council now consists of the following industry professionals:
mia Board

Andrew Mosley - Chairman
Mark Chambers - Vice-Chair
Jane Longhurst - Chief Executive
Alan Robinson - Honorary Treasurer
Nick Milne - Honorary Secretary
mia Council

David Armstrong, Council Member
James Barr, Council Member
Matthew Beard, Council Member
Peter Chubb, Council Member
Jackson Clark, Council Member
Tim Clark, Council Member
Kay England, Council Member
John Gallery, Council Member
Gwyneth Gibbons, Council Member
Ben Gray, Council Member
Nicky Harding, Council Member
Ruth Kaye, Council Member
Chris Morris, Council Member
Jonathan Morris, Council Member
Robin Purslow, Council Member
Ashleigh Sharp, Council Member
Michael Stott, Council Member
Matthew Stubbs, Council Member
Marc Webster, Council Member
Jacqui Kavanagh, Council Member

Contact our team